Psalm 22:3

image

But You are holy, O You Who dwell in the praises of Israel. – Psalm 22:3.

This is a verse that I had not noticed for years, though I had read this Psalm so many times. Psalm 22 has a special place in the hearts of all Christians, especially as we approach the Pass Over, the Passion of our LORD and His Resurrection. When our LORD the Savior was undergoing the last minutes of His earthly ministry in Calvary, in His agony, He cried out the first verse of this Psalm.

When growing up, I had no idea about how much our Savior had suffered on the Cross. I mean, if I do some small mistake and someone keeps pointing out that mistake 3-4 times, that’s it. Angry smile. But to be innocent and sinless, yet carry all the sins of the world and the punishment for those sins… it is just impossible to understand how much our LORD had suffered. But of all the things, the one thing that resonates more with me is this cry of Jesus: My God, My God, why have You forsaken Me?

image
The Bible tells that God our Father is so holy, that He cannot look at evil. (Hab.1:13) And whenever there is evil in me, in my actions, in my deeds, in my words, in my thoughts, the LORD cannot look at me. But HE has also promised that HE would never leave me nor forsake me. (Jos. 1:5) So, God our Father made Jesus to carry all my sins and evil, so that HE does not have to leave me or forsake me. Jesus Christ was forsaken on the Cross, so that I could never be. And, when Jesus cried those words, every time I come across those words, I realize that it was supposed to be my cry. Every single time I have trespassed, this was supposed to be my cry. But, LORD in His infinite grace, made Jesus to suffer on the Cross, so that I am redeemed. And what does the LORD expect back from me?

In one of his worst times, David cries unto the LORD with the same words: My God, My God, why have You forsaken me? David was still suffering, he had just cried out to his LORD, but he knows two things: one, that the LORD has heard his prayers and delivered him from evil and two, that the LORD is holy and HE dwells among the praises of Israel.

Yes, when Jesus Christ carried my sins and evil, so that the LORD who is Holy, Holy, Holy can look at me, my Savior made me realize that He wants only two things. One, that I acknowledge that the LORD is Holy and two, that He wants to dwell within me. And the only way the Most Holy God can dwell within me is if I praise Him continually.

Oh, our Father in Heaven, You are gracious and merciful, slow to anger. In Your eternal mercies, You forgave my sins through the blood of Your Son and my Savior Jesus Christ. And, LORD, I will praise You all my life so that You, the LORD Most High, who is Holy, Holy, Holy, may dwell within me. This I ask in the Name of Your Son and my Lord, Jesus Christ. Amen.

Galatians 5:22-23“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law.”

Brought to you by BibleGateway.com. Copyright (C) . All Rights Reserved.

Posted on March 20, 2013, in Christian Life, Daily Manna, Strong Tower and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

