A truly grateful heart

One day, Johann Tauler of Strosbourg met a peasant.
“God give you a good day, my friend,” he greeted him. The peasant answered briskly, “I thank God I never have a bad day.”
Tauler, astonished, kept silent for a moment. Tauler then added, “God give you a happy life, my friend.” The peasant replied composedly, “I thank God I am never unhappy.”
“Never unhappy!” cried Tauler bewildered, “What do you mean?”
“Well,” came the reply, “when it is sunshine-I thank God, when it rains-I thank God, when I have plenty-I thank God, when I am hungry-I thank God; and since God’s will is my will, and whatever pleases God pleases me, why should I say that I am unhappy when I am not?”
Tauler looked upon him with awe. “Who are you,” he asked. “I am a king,” said the peasant.
“A king?” Tauler asked, “Where is your kingdom?” The peasant smiled and whispered softly, “In my heart.”

John 10:28-30“I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one will snatch them out of my hand. My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all; no one can snatch them out of my Father’s hand. I and the Father are one.””

Brought to you by BibleGateway.com. Copyright (C) . All Rights Reserved.

Posted on April 21, 2013, in Christian Life, Daily Manna, Strong Tower and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

