Oswald Chambers

Many years back, a friend of mine gave me a devotional called “My Utmost For His Highest” by someone named Oswald Chambers. To be honest, OswaldChambersI had never heard of this Christian. But, I had not heard of Charles Spurgeon then and so many other Christians. And, I was raised a Catholic and since I suffered a lot because of the teachings of men, I was quite skeptical. But the friend who gave me the devotional said, “Patrick, be careful when you read this. It will be harsh most of the times and it will hurt you a lot, but it is true to the Word of God.” I thought my friend was just exaggerating. But then I read this devotional.

If I say that I was hurt by some of his thoughts would be an understatement. It was more like a devastation. Almost every single preconceived idea I had about being a true Christian, being sanctified, etc., were destroyed completely. But the more I meditated on, the more revelation the Spirit of the LORD gave me. Even after nearly 10 years, it is hard for me to digest few of the things. Though I know Oswald Chambers is correct in what he is saying, it is sort of difficult to accept, for a life of mediocrity is much easier than a life based on true Christian values.

For example, I am posting the meditation for today verbatim. I hope I am not breaking any copyright laws. I am just posting this devotion for our edification and also to point out how true Christian life is so much different from the life we live. All I hope and pray is that one day, I become that Christian – just like Christ. Amen.

My Utmost For His Highest by Oswald Chambers

June 27

The Overshadowing of God’s Personal Deliverance
Jeremiah  1:8 (Jer_1:8)

God promised Jeremiah that He would deliver him personally — “. . . your life shall be as a prize to you . . .” (Jer_39:18). That is all God promises His children. Wherever God sends us, He will guard our lives. Our personal property and possessions are to be a matter of indifference to us, and our hold on these things should be very loose. If this is not the case, we will have panic, heartache, and distress. Having the proper outlook is evidence of the deeply rooted belief in the overshadowing of God’s personal deliverance.

The Sermon on the Mount indicates that when we are on a mission for Jesus Christ, there is no time to stand up for ourselves. Jesus says, in effect, “Don’t worry about whether or not you are being treated justly.” Looking for justice is actually a sign that we have been diverted from our devotion to Him. Never look for justice in this world, but never cease to give it. If we look for justice, we will only begin to complain and to indulge ourselves in the discontent of self-pity, as if to say, “Why should I be treated like this?” If we are devoted to Jesus Christ, we have nothing to do with what we encounter, whether it is just or unjust. In essence, Jesus says, “Continue steadily on with what I have told you to do, and I will guard your life. If you try to guard it yourself, you remove yourself from My deliverance.” Even the most devout among us become atheistic in this regard — we do not believe Him. We put our common sense on the throne and then attach God’s name to it. We do lean to our own understanding, instead of trusting God with all our hearts (Pro_3:5-6).

Matthew 16:25“For whoever wants to save their life will lose it, but whoever loses their life for Me will find it.”

Brought to you by BibleGateway.com. Copyright (C) . All Rights Reserved.

Posted on June 27, 2013, in Christian Life, Daily Manna, Strong Tower and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

