My burden – Iniquity

When I was in 6th standard, that was really really long time back, I joined a boarding school. I was pudgy Embarrassed smile and hence I was made fun all the time and I had no problem. In that boarding school, there was a deaf and dumb person. I never knew who it was, but he was there. For some reason, I always liked him and treated him as a friend.

But I had one small problem. As I am the only kid of my parents, I never learnt to share my things with others, especially when it comes to chocolates and sweets Angry smile.

I had a classmate, who was one of the friends I made initially. Once we were talking to our teacher who was in-charge for us. Everyone was making fun of my size and how I never shared my chocolates with them. For some reason, this classmate of mine told the teacher that not only I never shared my chocolates with them, but I also stole chocolates that he gave to that deaf and dumb person. (No, I never did that…) My teacher was very upset with me and some of my friends stopped talking with me.

This was long time back. But it took nearly 20 years for me to forgive him. This is what the Psalmist is talking about here in Psalm 55:3.

“Because of the voice of the enemy, because of the oppression of the wicked; for they cast iniquity upon me, and in wrath they hate me.” (KJV 21st Century Version)

Probably your friend turned against you. It has hurt a lot. Your friend is spreading rumors about you and it has really upset you. Your friend is being really rude to you. And, now, to top it off, he/she is justifying their actions.

They are explaining how you deserve such a treatment. They are charging you with things that you have never even dreamed of. They are justifying their actions by accusing you of all wrong things on earth. For everyone who listens to them, it looks as if they are saints, coming straight from heaven, while you look like the chief of sinners. Everyone looks at you as if you got off easy.

We can all accept friends becoming foes. But it is very difficult for us to accept their betrayal of trust and their words justifying their actions. This is a burden that most of us are carrying.

And the Psalmist yet again advises us to cast this burden on the LORD in Psalm 55:22.

august31

Yes, dear friend, cast this burden of iniquity upon the mighty shoulders of our Savior Jesus Christ. And receive His rest. Do you know why we should do that? Because the LORD our God, our loving Father has laid all our iniquities on His Son and our Lord Jesus Christ on Calvary. (Isaiah 55:6) So, all we need to do is just cast this burden on Jesus. Let us do that right now. Amen.isaiah53-6-2

Psalm 119:64“The earth is filled with Your love, LORD; teach me Your decrees.”

Brought to you by BibleGateway.com. Copyright (C) . All Rights Reserved.

Posted on September 2, 2013, in Christian Life, Daily Manna, Strong Tower and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

