Except in the cross of our LORD Jesus Christ

In what do you seek your glory?

  1. Prayer: Do you seek glory in how much you pray every day? Are you proud that you spend more time in prayers than others?
  2. Faith: Is your glory based on your faith? How strong you are no matter how difficult the circumstances become? How you can praise the LORD even in the midst of all the hardships?
  3. Sufferings: Is your glory based on your suffering? On how much you have suffered for Christ, compared to others? That no one you know have suffered as much as you have?
  4. Blessings: Do you glorify in the blessings that you have received from the LORD? Is this something that you are proud of? How your prayers are answered immediately?
    These are the few common things, IMHO, that the Christians boast often. But, these are the few things that I have seen Christians murmur against the LORD too.
  • When their prayers are not answered quickly, they are upset with the LORD.
  • When their faith does not bring victory to them, they quickly question their faith or God in Who they trust.
  • When their sufferings are beyond what they can bear, they start to question the righteousness of the LORD.
  • When some blessings are denied, they are very upset with the LORD.

But, there is something that I boast upon. Something that would never ever disappoint me. That would never make me upset with the LORD. That would always bring joy to my mind.

May I never boast except in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ. – Galatians 6:14 (NIV)

boast-the-cross

In the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ. I look at Calvary and see what the LORD has done for me in the cross.

  • I know my prayers are heard by God our Father, because Jesus Christ, His Son and my Savior, was torn into two, so that I can draw near to the Throne of Grace fearlessly and with confident.
  • I know that the LORD is pleased with my faith, because my faith is not based on my self-confidence or my self-will. It is based on the One who died for me on the cross, Jesus Christ, the Author and Perfecter of my faith.
  • Oh, there is nothing, nothing that can be compared to the suffering of Christ on the cross. So, when I think I am suffering, I look at the cross. I look at the sufferings that He endured for me. There is nothing to boast from my side.
  • And, all my blessings, all my success, everything that could be considered a blessing in my life came to me, only because Jesus Christ Himself became a curse for me on the cross, so that I receive the blessings of Abraham. (Galatians 3:13-14)

Now, I look again. There is nothing in me that I can boast. Prayer, faith, sufferings, blessings… everything came to me only through the cross of Christ. So, there is only one thing that I boast in. There is only one thing that I glory in.

The Cross of our Lord Jesus Christ.

What about you?

my_boast_slide-580x250

  • Matthew 28:18-20“Then Jesus came to them and said, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to Me. Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.””

    Brought to you by BibleGateway.com. Copyright (C) . All Rights Reserved.

Posted on September 4, 2013, in Christian Life, Daily Manna, Strong Tower and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

