Who am I going to be – the chief baker?

“In the uppermost basket were all kinds of baked goods for Pharaoh, and the birds ate them out of the basket on my head.” – Genesis 40:17 (NKJV)

Who am I going to be? The chief baker or the chief butler?
The chief baker had a dream. In that dream, he saw that the baked goods he had made were ate by the birds while he was on his way to present those to Pharaoh, the king of Egypt. Unfortunately this is what happens to certain points in my Christian life.

1. How good were the baked goods? It depended solely on the chief baker. Of course, he would have prepared really tasty food for he was making them for the Pharaoh, but still, it was his handiwork.
There are times, I try to bring great things to God our LORD. My holiness. My disciplined life. My prayers. My devotion. Yet, I see that the birds of the air, or the devil, devouring those works even before I reach the altar of my LORD. For these deeds, depend on my own self completely.
If someone sees those deeds, they won’t glorify God; because they know that these good deeds are because of my own – who I am. They won’t see the finger of God in those good deeds.
LORD, forgive me for trying to come into Your holy presence with my own good works.

2. The baked goods had leaven in them. All baked goods need leaven. Only then they are soft and tasty. The baked goods that the chief baker brought would have had leaven in them.
We will be able to see so many articles and discussions on what “leaven” means in the Bible. So, I will not go into the details here. But, whatever the interpretation be, leaven is something that the LORD abhors. And when my offerings, whatever be the nature of them, monetary, time or my own self, if those offerings have leaven in them, then the birds of the air eat them on my way to the LORD.
LORD, forgive me yet again for trying to bring leavened goods to Your presence. Thank You for reminding that I cannot come into Your presence by my own righteousness.

3. The baked goods are naturally puffed up. Leaven and baking make things puffed up.
I may think I am really a very humble person. But only the LORD knows what is residing deep in my heart. A little baking will show whether there is leaven in me or not. A little trial, a little heat will show to the world and to me, if I am puffed up. If I am proud. And there are times I thought I was being humility personified and a little insult from someone would reveal what leaven is hiding deep in my heart.
Oh LORD, the Gracious God, forgive me for trying to come into Your presence with pride. I acknowledge that whatever You have allowed the devil to take away from my life are nothing but my pride. And, I thank You for that, for You are just and gracious. In Jesus’s Name, Amen.

Jeremiah 29:11

Posted on October 14, 2015, in Christian Life, Strong Tower and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

