Viler than I thought

As the end of the year is approaching, I am trying to catch up with my Bible reading. But instead of making me feel better, the more I read the Word of God, the Holy Spirit is making me realize how vile my thoughts and how reprehensible my words and deeds are in the light of the Holy Scriptures.

I thought I had the measure of sin in me. Did not realize how wrong I was all these days. But reading the Bible has made me realize to what extent sin is deeply rooted in me and how extensive is its spread in everything I do.

I have read Romans 7:24 many times and to be honest, I had never understood the full import of the meaning of that verse. Even now, I don’t think I can tell with confidence that I know what the apostle is talking about. Probably I have scratched the surface of that verse and oh man, it is scary and disgusting. I don’t know if the LORD is going to take me deeper and deeper into my heart to make me realize how horrible it is deep down there.

All I realize is that for once, when I read Romans 7:24, I can truly say along with the great apostle, “O wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death?” 

Romans 7_24

Posted on December 27, 2015, in Christian Life, Personal, Strong Tower and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

