Not running to Jesus Christ

Jesus Christ is the Same yesterday, and today, and forever. – Hebrews 13:8.

For many years, I had a problem that I could not correct. Even recently I did the same mistake again.

Whenever the Spirit of God convicts me of my sin, or a wrong I have done to someone else, I would immediately humble myself, seek the forgiveness of those who I had wronged and would try to “right the wrong” I had committed. Sounds so Christian and so humble, right? I mean, what is wrong with this and what could go wrong with this?

Everything. Every single time I had tried to do this, I only aggravated the situation. Either I ended up hurting them more or I ended up sinning much more than I ever thought it would be possible. It always left me with a bitter taste. Bitter than when I was convicted of my sin. And it made no sense to me. As a Christian, is it not my duty to do reparations first for the damages I had caused?

Yes, it is. But the first thing I had to repair is the damaged relation I have with Jesus Christ. Yes, He loves me no matter what. His love does not change. But I have damaged a part of my relationship with Him. And that is the part I must be concerned more. And with humility, I must run to Jesus Christ, till He strengthens my feeble hands. Then I will be able to make reparations to others.

Caravaggio_-_Taking_of_Christ_-_Dublin

Judas Iscariot betrayed our LORD and yet, Jesus called him, “His friend”. Judas experienced the unchanging love of Jesus Christ right there. And when he saw what happened to Jesus Christ at that night, Apostle Matthew records the following:

When Judas, the traitor, learned that Jesus had been condemned, he repented and took back the thirty silver coins to the chief priests and the elders. Matthew 27:3 (GNB)Judas death

Yes, Judas repented for his sin. But he did not run to Jesus Christ, whose love for us does not change. Instead, he wanted to correct his betrayal first. So he went to the chief priests and the elders. And ended up hanging himself.

Only if he had gone to Jesus Christ, Who loves us with an unchanging love…?

Now, I realize my mistake. Instead of running to Jesus Christ and be strengthened by His love, I kept running back to the same circumstances and same people who caused me to sin in the first place. I wanted to make amends to what I had done on my own. I failed to realize that forgiveness of sin comes only from the love and sacrifice of Jesus Christ and no other way.

Now, instead of running to make amends, I am running towards Jesus Christ. Like that prodigal son. For my Redeemer lives. And He is the Same yesterday, and today, and forever. And He loves me with an everlasting love. HE will cleanse me, yet again, and will take me back in to His fold. Then I will be able to make amends in a proper manner.

Let us run towards Jesus Christ.

Posted on January 7, 2016, in Christian Life, Daily Manna, Daily Verse, Personal, Strong Tower and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

