Day 10. Deuteronomy 4:31

For the LORD your God is a merciful God, He will not forsake you nor destroy you, nor forget the covenant of your fathers which He swore to them. (NKJV)

It does not matter how many times we have heard that our Lord is a merciful God, when you hear it one more time, it always makes you filled with joy.

During my battle with depression, for nearly a month, I stopped praying and kept my Bible hidden so that I won’t read it by accident. I thought it would make my depression go away and reduce my pain and suffering. What do you know? You could be at the bottom rung of depression, but leave Jesus Christ out of your life, you will realize you have not reached the bottom yet. After more misery and more pain, finally the Lord spoke to me in gentle whisper, that He is still waiting for me with wide open arms. When I touched my Bible again, I felt very guilty of trying to leave the Lord and was filled with remorse. As I opened the Bible, all I could say was the prayer of the prodigal son… Lord, I am not worthy to be called Your son again… let me one of the servants in Your household. As I was praying those words, I was certain that all the promises that the Lord had given me were nullified. Yet, when I opened the Bible, the Lord spoke to me through this verse.

Yes, the Lord our God is a merciful God. HE will never forsake us, nor destroy us. And He will not forget the covenant He has made with us, through the Blood of His Son and our Lord Jesus Christ.

Deut. 4.31

Posted on February 19, 2016, in Rebuilding and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

