Day 11. Isaiah 60:22

A little one shall become a thousand, and a small one a strong nation. I, the LORD, will hasten it in its time. (NKJV)

I still can’t forget how I received this precious promise from the Lord. I was in college and as I had mentioned earlier, I was undergoing severe depression and my wife, who was my girl friend then, knew about this and was writing to me continuously. We were in different towns and during that time, not many knew about depression. So, only she knew and she would write three letters a week to help me. Hmmm, how much I miss writing and receiving letters. All these whatsapps and smses are instantaneous, but they are fast food. I still have the very first card she gave me, but today, it is so easy to delete everything and move on.

Anyway, I was studying in a men’s college and during that time, in our college, only three of us were in a romantic relationship and even that was a big thing. It was a taboo during that time. Nowadays, everyone has three relationships Sad smile. So, we three boys would be getting letters regularly from our respective girl friends. This sort of pissed the other hostel inmates. Some of them never received any letters at all; for others, receiving one letter per semester itself is a big deal. And here are three guys receiving at least three letters per week.

So, one afternoon, none of us received any letters. The boys decided to open and read what were written. And expectedly the other two guys had received letters from their girl friends with so much romance and some titillation. Everyone had a laugh and gave those letters to those two boys. For me, they came and sat around me and stared at me. The only question they had is: “Are there love letters or the Epistles by Paul?” Because my wife would always start with a Biblical quote and explain how the Lord loves me unconditionally and that she has been praying for me and would end the letter with a Biblical promise. This is the typical love letter she wrote to me. And in that particular letter, she had written the promise. A little one shall become a thousand, and a small one a strong nation. I, the LORD, will hasten it in its time.

That was the last time they ever bothered me regarding those letters. And, they showed a profound respect to me from that day onwards. Hmmm, the miraculous ways in which the Lord fulfils His Word. And I thank Him for His precious promise and for the precious gift my wife is.

Isaiah 60.22

Posted on February 20, 2016, in Rebuilding and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

