Day 13. Isaiah 50:4

The Lord GOD has given me the tongue of the learned, that I should know how to speak a word in season to him that is weary. (NKJV)

isaiah_50.4

This is a secret promise. I mean, this is a promise that the Lord has given me, long back. But so far, only my wife knows that the Lord has given such a promise to me. This would be the first time I am even writing about it.

The reason I never told anyone about this promise is two-fold. Those who know me well would say that my word would actually make them weary and not the other way around. There was a time in my life, where I had no time and space for these two words: compassion and empathy. So, I actually didn’t know how to speak a word in season to him that is weary.

The next reason is among my family members, I had studied a little more than others – education-wise. And even now, when I try to put forth a point, or add clarity to certain things done routinely, I am put down often, by my church leaders and members, that not everyone is as learned as I am or that not everyone knows how to read English. It is hilarious at times. Initially even I thought the word “learned” refers to studies, but then when I went to Pune and then to USA, I suddenly realized that my qualifications are nothing but an insignificant drop in an ocean. I had seen people who are so qualified having trouble believing in God.

There is this Professor who works in one of the most illustrious Universities in the world and I liked his book on Physical Chemistry and just now found out that he was also born on August 10th, just like I am. No matter what branch of Chemistry, if he has written a book, I would read it. Once as I was reading his book, he had gone on and on about how the Universe is created through the Big Bang. And in explaining that, he had written something like this. I read it few years back and hence don’t remember the exact words, but the gist is this: Billions of years ago, the Big Bang happened and within four hours, the Universe started to cool. Are you kidding me? How can anyone say that with any kind of assurance? When you don’t even know when the “event” happened, how can you say with so much confidence, that within four hours… only then I realized I am reading the book written by an atheist.

That is when I realized that when the Lord said He is giving me the tongue of the learned, He was not talking about my educational qualifications. Then the Lord Jesus invited me: Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me. (Matthew 11:29)

And I am learning, learning and I will be learning even after billions of years. Thank You, Jesus, for the invitation.

Matt-11-29

Posted on February 22, 2016, in Rebuilding and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

