Day 34. Matthew 26:38

“My soul is exceedingly sorrowful, even to death. Stay here and watch with Me.”

One of the verses I had abused so much in the past and now, one of the verses that helps me a lot.

As I have mentioned before, I had suffered from depression and during the downward spiralling, this is the verse I would use. My soul is exceedingly sorrowful, even to death. Especially when thoughts of suicide would pass my mind. For me, my situation looked overwhelming.

Then, one day, when I meditated on this verse, it hit me hard. I have been so selfish. This verse has nothing to do with my problems in this world. This is all about Jesus and Him crucified. The Holy One Who was about to become a sin for me; the Blessed One Who was going to be a curse because of me. It is about the Son of God Who became the Son of Man, a Man of sorrows, acquainted with grief.

And, even today, when I am down, I look at this verse. But instead of having suicidal thoughts, I want to live the life that He has promised, and to live abundantly – because my Redeemer has bought that life abundantly.

Matthew 26.38

Posted on March 14, 2016, in Rebuilding and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

