Day 50. Psalm 19:14

Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in Your sight, O LORD, my Strength and my Redeemer.

For many years, I had a severe problem. My mouth would be all praising the LORD, but deep in my heart, I would be fuming over someone, cursing them with the vilest of languages. And, some great person had told me, in my growing years as a Christian, that it does not matter what you feel in your heart; just praise the LORD. That’s what God wants from you. So, I kept cursing my enemies in my heart, while my mouth kept praising the Lord. What an awesome hypocrite I was!

Then the LORD pointed out it to me that both the words of my mouth and meditation of my heart have to be acceptable in His sight. And, it was not easy. Not at all easy. For I had so much bitterness in my heart. I had forgotten all the wrongs I had committed, but remembered every single wrong any one had committed against me. So, I asked the Lord to remove the bitterness of my heart, and what do you know, God asked me to praise and worship more. I thought He misunderstood my prayers. Yes, I really thought that the Lord misunderstood my prayers. (Hmmm, how amazing His love is, if He is not fed up with me after all these.) So, I prayed again and I got the same answer. Recently a friend of mine pointed out that one ounce of obedience is more than one pound of prayer. So, I finally gave in and started praising the Lord, and it was difficult not to curse someone while I was praising as it had become a habit for me. But the LORD helped me and the more I praised with my mouth and with my heart, the more He made me realize the bitterness of my heart. And, one night, the LORD pulled all the bitterness out of my heart.

Now, by His grace, and by His deliverance, though I struggle at times, the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart are in sync with each other and I mean what I say – whether when I talk to others or when I praise the LORD. Yes, He is my Strength and He is my Redeemer.

psalm-19-14

Posted on March 30, 2016, in Rebuilding and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

