Lessons from the ICU. 1. Doctors can be so wrong

As my heart beat went racing on July 8th, I was taken to a doctor in my hometown. He is a physician I respect a lot. But on that day, he did not recognize me as I was overweight by 55 kgs. And with all the perspiration and all that, he looked at me with disgust and was not even ready to take a look at my condition. He asked me to get out of his office as he does not deal with “patients who are about to die.” But then my breathing became too erratic and I was unable to move. So he gave me two injections to reduce my pain and sent me off.

But then he called my father-in-law, a 78 year old God-fearing servant of God, and told him not to waste time and money by taking me to any place for treatment as there was neither time nor hope left for me to survive. He told another believer who accompanied me to make arrangements for my funeral as I might be alive for only another two hours because of the injections he had given, but after that, it is surely a gone case.

Two hours later, I was admitted to the Emergency Ward and the John 11.4physician there had given my wife only a mere 10% of my survival. Even that was against all hopes. So he had cautioned her not to expect any good news.

One hour later, the same physician looked at me and with a bewildered look, asked me: “You scared all of us and we are still scratching our heads here, wondering what has happened to you. But here you are, sitting in the emergency ward, with such a huge smile in your face. Okay, that is a good sign. So keep smiling.”

Why was I smiling after being so close to death? Why did not my wife and her father panic when given such bad news? Because when I started becoming sick, we prayed and the LORD promised us John 11:4. “This sickness is not unto death, but for the glory of God, that the Son of God may be glorified through it.”

I respect doctors and physicians. But they have only so much power and authority. But my life is hidden in Christ Who has all the power and authority. And finally as Ron Kenoly asked, whose report will I believe… yes, I shall believe the report of the LORD.

Whose report
Will you believe?
We shall believe
The report of the Lord

His report says I am healed
His report says I am filled
His report says I am free
His report says victory

Are you healed?
Yes
Are you filled?
Yes
Have you got the victory?
Yes

John 11_4

Posted on July 28, 2016, in Christian Life, Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

