From the Interpreter–a Devotional Bible

John Wesley was once asked by a lady, “Suppose that you knew that you were to die at twelve o’clock to-morrow night, how would you spend the intervening time?” “How, madam?” he replied, “why just as I intend to spend it now. I should preach this night at Gloucester, and again at five to-morrow morning. After that I should ride to Tewkesbury, preach in the afternoon, and meet the societies in the evening. I should then repair to friend Martins house, who expects to entertain me, converse and pray with the family as usual, retire to my room at ten o’clock, commend myself to my heavenly Father, lie down to rest, and wake up in glory.” To be prepared for the coming of Jesus we need not leave our daily callings, and stand gazing upward into heaven; but with grace in our hearts we shall do well to continue in the path of service with steadfast souls. – Charles Spurgeon

Posted on October 2, 2016, in Christian Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

