Lessons from ICU. 19. The Haman spirit

As I was in the ICU, many believers from our church started visiting me. To be truthful before God, I have to admit that I was surprised by how much love they have for me. For one, I don’t chit chat a lot and hence, with many, I have not spoken in a casual manner. Second, there were times when I have pointed out their mistakes and hence, I was under the impression that most of the believers actually don’t like me. So imagine my surprise when most of the church members visited me at the ICU. Especially it is very difficult for our church members, because most of them are from very impoverished backgrounds. For some, even coming to the church on Sunday is difficult as they may not have money for the bus. Most of them also work everyday, except Sunday and hence taking a break to travel 3 hours to come to the hospital, and then 3 hours back, only just to see me for a mere 5 minutes is a huge sacrifice they made and I was very moved by their love.

But once all the dust settled, once I was moved out of ICU to Special Ward, some who visited pointed out that one believer, who is supposed to be very close to my family, never bothered to visit, and did not even bother to enquire about my health at all. It was a sore point for almost everyone who visited me, because when they went back and informed that believer that they were just back from visiting me, they excepted that the believer would ask how I was doing. But nothing like that happened. Even today, one year after it happened, some are still upset about that. So when they asked me why I am not hurt by that, I laughed out loud and told them that I am still reeling from the shock that the entire church loves me, and I have not been able to process that still today.

But when some of the believers who I care about deeply, kept harping on this one point again and again, I simply pointed out that this character is not Christian at all. It is, indeed, the character of one of the vilest enemies the Jews had to face in their history – Haman.

In the 5th chapter of the Book of Esther, we see Haman describing all the great things that were happening to him. He talked about how he had found favour in the eyes of his king and also queen Esther (Esther 5:11-12). Yet he says something striking in the next verse.

Yet all this avails me nothing, so long as I see Mordecai the Jew sitting at the king’s gate. (Esther 5:13)

As a result, he prepared a gallows to hand Mordecai, but in 24 hours, things changed and it was Haman who was hanging from the same gallows. All because one man chose to ignore him.

Let us not yield even an inch of our hearts to this evil spirit of Haman. Look around this beautiful world that the Lord has made us because He loves us. Look at all those loved ones He has given us in our life. Look at the innocent smile of our children or grandchildren, when they hold our finger in their baby hands. Above all, look at the Cross. Even if you are surrounded by people who hate you, even if the entire world is against you, their hatred would never be equal to one drop of the blood that our Saviour shed on the Calvary for us. The love of Jesus alone is enough for us to survive any hatred or rejection. Look at the Cross. Look at your Crucified Saviour. Look at the Lamb of the God. Look at Jesus Christ and be filled with His diving love. Amen.

love-upside-down

Posted on July 7, 2017, in Christian Life, Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

