Lessons from ICU. 21. Temptation

After being treated in the Emergency Ward for nearly 5 hours, I was finally transferred to the ICU around 7:30 pm on July 8th, 2016. As soon as all the orderlies went, I looked around and was visibly confused. My wife saw the question mark in my face and asked what was wrong. And I very seriously asked, “But where are the large LCD TVs before our beds, so we can keep watching the news or something?” Apparently I had this idea that each ICU bed would have a LCD TV, of course, with the sound muted, but whenever the patient was bored, he or she could watch the news of some programmes. Don’t know how it entered into my mind.

Once I realized that I would be spending most of my time either sleeping or just sitting, I was a little worried. My idle mind would start solving the problems of the entire world and would get infuriated that no body understands how I could solve all educational crises and poverty, only if they would give me the authority and power. Ok, just kidding. But I used to get worried about the how things are in the society and all that. And at times, it would lead to depression when I think about the chances that I had wasted. So, I asked the nurse if I would be allowed to keep my iPod with me, so that I could listen to songs. The nurse smiled at me and politely said that the nurses who are working at the ICU are from very poor background. When they see an expensive iPod lying around a patient who was sleeping, they would be tempted to steal it. And she asked me if that was a good thing for me to do?

To be honest, I was stunned by her honesty. To admit that someone from her ilk would steal is a big thing. Then she explained further how nurses from very different background are working there; and there are people who come to clean the floor and most of them are on contract basis, and if something goes missing, then it would put a question mark on everyone who is working. So, she asked me not to use my iPod during my stay at ICU.

Then I remembered the words of our LORD: But whoever causes one of these little ones who believe in Me to stumble, it would be better for him if a millstone were hung around his neck, and he were thrown into the sea. (Mark 9:42, NKJV)

On Sunday night, many daily labourers were coming to clean the entire ICU to get it ready for the week. I could see how impoverished they were and as they were working, their eyes would be looking at the patients, the nurses and the doctors – expecting at least an acknowledgement of their existence. I smiled at few of them, and one of them came to me with tears in his eyes and told, “Man, you are a good person. In all these days I have worked here, you are the only person to look at me as another human being and smiled. Thank you”, he said and walked away. Soon he came back with something in his pocket and asked me if I want to eat some snacks; he got some chips for me to eat as he knew that the food at ICU would be intolerable. I smiled and politely refused, and he was very disappointed and asked, “Is it because I am doing such a menial job you are refusing it from me?” Then I had to explain to him that it was 2 in the morning and I generally don’t eat at that time and it has nothing to do with his job. I also thanked him for what he was doing. Only then he was convinced and left with a huge smile in his face.

And, what if I had kept my iPod nearby and tempted that poor man? I thank that nurse who pointed out that fact to me and ever since, I am mindful of not tempting anyone by anything I say, or do or leave behind. The LORD teaches in mysterious ways.

No temptation

Posted on July 12, 2017, in Christian Life, Personal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

