Lessons from ICU. 23. My secrets

As I was admitted to the ICU, my wife and I agreed that we would not divulge everything to others. The place where I am from, they would make a hue and cry for even a headache. So, we decided to keep between us whatever the doctors were going to tell.

So, imagine my surprise, when some of my blood relatives, who are not my well-wishers, came to visit me after few days. And they knew my entire treatment – what was my condition when I was admitted, what were the medications prescribed, the diet I was under, the tests taken and their results. We were very confused, because when my attender asked one of the nurses about the result of a particular test the previous day, he was told, in a very curt manner, that the results could be discussed only with the patient and his wife, and not with anyone else.

But here are some family members, who are not in touch with me, yet revealing every single thing. Then one of my very distant relatives came in and they proudly proclaimed how they got all my medical data from the hospital. Their daughter, my cousin, is a physician who went to the medical school, with one of the practising physicians at the hospital where I was admitted. However, that physician was not treating me at that time; and she was pregnant and hence she was on maternity leave.

As soon these relatives heard that I was at that hospital, this physician, who is practising in that hospital was contacted. She had accessed my medical files and told them that there was nothing wrong me and that everything under control. But my cousin did not believe that there was nothing wrong with me; so this physician, who was not treating me, who was on leave at that time, had taken a copy of all my data and sent them to my cousin to show that I was doing okay. And my relatives were so proud how their daughter had received all my medical data from the hospital just by a phone call. Only thing is they had no idea what I was thinking during all those boastings. I really wished we were in USA; man, I would have sued her, her friend who disclosed my information and the hospital and would have been a multi-millionaire now, with two physicians losing their license. But, alas, it is India. So, it would be better to leave it as it is.

Anyway, it made me think about how God has dealt with me in the past with my secrets. Nearly 10 years back, a woman possessed by an evil spirit was brought to our church for exorcism. I was quite new to the church then, so I would just sit in the back and watch the proceedings. During that time, many teenagers had got baptized and they wanted to do “great things” for the Lord. So they all had gathered and started to pray fervently, but the prayer lasted just few seconds. The demon-possessed woman opened her mouth and started telling the secret sins of the teenagers one by one. They were astonished and one of them asked me how she could know all these things. I told that girl that when we sin, demons know of our sins, and unless we have confessed and have received forgiveness from our Lord Jesus Christ, the demons could use against us.

I wish we had a video camera then. As soon as I told this, all the teenagers literally ran away from the place. I mean, every single one of them ran away, worried that the woman might expose them before the ministers, elders and their own parents. I still remember vividly how fast they were running, it was hilarious.

Now after exposing everyone else who were present, that woman turned towards me. And, if there is a competition, I am sure I would be the vilest sinner in our entire church; yet, I could see that she was struggling. Then she said these words: “Oh, I know everything you have done. I know, I know. But He has forgiven your sins. HE has thrown them into the depths of the ocean. And He has commanded us never to use it against you, because you have confessed and sought His forgiveness. Oh, He is not allowing me to speak about you.” She kept repeating those words and finally fainted.

It was then I realized the full import of David’s declaration: Blessed is he whose transgression is forgiven, whose sin is covered. Psalm 32:1 (NKJV)

psalm321-finale

Though vilest of sinners, Jesus had covered my sins by His blood. Yes, the blood of Jesus Christ, the Son of God, has cleansed me from all sin (1 John 1:7).

The world may not keep all our secrets; even the ones that are supposed to be protected by them, they may tell others. But not our God. When with a repented heart, we confess our sins, He promises to have compassion on us. HE will trample our sins under His feet, and will throw them into the depths of the ocean. HE will blot out our transgressions, and will not remember our sins anymore. Yes, blessed are we, whose transgression are forgiven, whose sin are covered.

Once again You will have compassion on us. You will trample our sins under Your feet and throw them into the depths of the ocean!  – Micah 7:19 (NLT)

I, even I, am He who blots out your transgressions for My own sake; and I will not remember your sins. – Isaiah 43:25 (NKJV)

Micah 7_19

Posted on July 31, 2017, in Christian Life, Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

