Daily Archives: August 20, 2017

Simple Faith

Let the little children come to Me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these. I tell you the truth, anyone who will not receive the kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it. – Luke 18:16-17 (NIV)

As I wrote earlier, God gave me a chance to go out with my nieces a day before my birthday. One of the reasons we chose our destination is it has a wonderful beach and our nieces have never been to one. Especially the elder one, Irene Charlotte, is a sweet heart and is very close to me.

When I first met her, she was afraid of almost everything, because her parents wanted to safeguard against anything happening to their first child. But, I and my wife taught her to be brave and above all, kept telling her how Jesus is fond of her and He is taking care of her.

On August 9th, as we went to the beach, I was already exhausted and had trouble walking in the sands. So, I chose to stay back near the boat house and everyone else went ahead to the seashore. It was sort of hard for me, because I always wanted to be with Irene when she faced the ocean for the first time, but I was very tired and did not want to be a kill-joy. So, when they came back from the beach, I wanted to know how my favorite niece faced the waters and everyone was talking about how fearless she was and how much she enjoyed playing in the waters.

As we were coming back, she was sitting next to me. I asked her why she was not afraid of water, and she said, “Uncle, but didn’t you teach me that Jesus created the waters and found that it is good. So why should I be afraid of water that Jesus created for us?” I could not help but smile. Then I asked if she felt the water pulling her and she said yes. “Weren’t you afraid even then?”, I asked. She looked at me, and said, “But, uncle, didn’t you teach me that Jesus is watching over me and He will protect me?”

Oh, how I used to have such simple faith. Like my niece, I used to believe the Word of God. Now, it has become so complicated. And as I go to sleep tonight, my wish that I have that simple faith – believe the Word of God, without any qualifications. So, help me, God.

Glory and Irene

