Daily Archives: September 1, 2017

Job’s Wife – Satanic Sarcasm

1. Job’s Wife – Introduction

2. Job’s Wife – Balaam’s Wise Utterance

3. Job’s Wife – The LORD Understands Depression

4. Job’s Wife – The Silent Sufferer

5. Job’s Wife – Her Broken Heart

6. Job’s Wife – To Bless or To Curse

7. Job’s Wife – Blessing While Sinning

As I wrote in one of the previous blogs, the Hebrew word for blessing, ‘barak’ is translated as ‘curse’ in the Scriptures four times only. All those four instances occur in the first two chapters in the Book of Job. Yesterday, we saw that the first instance mentioned in Job 1:5 is mistranslated because of our limited understanding of sin. Today, God willing, we will see the next two verses where the word ‘barak’ is translated as ‘curse’.

Those are Job 1:11 and Job 2:5.

“But stretch out Your hand and strike everything he has, and he will surely curse You to Your face.” (Job 1:11, NIV)

“But stretch out Your hand and strike his flesh and bones, and he will surely curse You to Your face.” (Job 2:5, NIV)

I have grouped them together, since both have identical words, both were uttered by Satan, and both times in the presence of the Lord Almighty. If you use ‘bless’ instead of ‘curse’, this is what we get.

“But stretch out Your hand and strike everything he has, and he will surely bless You to Your face.” (Job 1:11, my paraphrase using the literal translation of the word ‘barak’)

“But stretch out Your hand and strike his flesh and bones, and he will surely bless You to Your face.” (Job 2:5, my paraphrase using the literal translation of the word ‘barak’)

Now, I am sure you can see that the sarcastic tone is more evident in this original translation. The common translation simply says that if God allowed evil to happen in the life of Job, he would curse the Lord. But the original, literal translation says this: right now, since God is protecting Job and made his life prosperous, Job is blessing Him. But let God stretch out His hand and allow evil to happen in the life of Job, then he will not just bless God, but will bless Him to His face.

The devil is being sarcastic here, and it is more evident when we use the original word intended by the Scriptures.

God willing, we will deal with the actual words that Job’s wife said tomorrow. May the Spirit of the Lord be with us. Amen.

I should have prayed

When I heard that the Government of India was making NEET exam compulsory for admission to medical institutions, I spent hours dissecting why it would be tilted towards students from higher economic circles and from urban cities. But… I should have prayed.

When the State Government of Tamilnadu complied to the diktat’s of the Central Government, I analysed and said that the State Government was going to be duped by the Central Government. But… I should have prayed.

When the State Government was duped by the Central Government, as I had predicted, I kept telling everyone who was listening: “See, I told you so!”. But… I should have prayed.

When one of the students in high school came to me, crying that she won’t be able to study to become a physician, that her dreams were shattered, I felt compassionate towards her and wept with her. But… I should have prayed.

When the TV News showed the confused topper of the State Examination won’t be able to get a medical seat, I sympathised for her and posted a Facebook post. Got many likes and few comments, saying that I nailed the issue. But… I should have prayed.

When I saw that topper’s eyes on the other day, I could see that she was lost. I felt pity for her and was talking about her to everyone I met. But… I should have prayed.

This morning, as I was talking to my wife about that kid. And comforted myself that she being a topper, there would be many people to help her and she would soon excel in some other course of study. But… I should have prayed.

This afternoon, as I was watching the news, there was a “Breaking News”, showing that student did not know what to do with her life and in a moment of desperation, had committed suicide. And at that moment, I realized that… I should have prayed.

Father, please forgive me. I do understand that I won’t be able to share the burden of everyone in this world. But those people You bring into my life, I could offer a prayer for few seconds. This time, I have failed. Please forgive me, through Jesus Christ, for

I should have prayed.

Prayed