Daily Archives: March 8, 2016

Day 28. Genesis 49:19

Gad, a troop shall overcome him: but he shall overcome at the last.

When I joined a new church, I was welcomed with open hands. I was amazed by the hospitality shown by the believers. I was treated like a family. Till I said something that went against the traditional values that the church was holding dear to. When I tried to correct some small errors in the church, I was pilloried, ridiculed and cursed.

One believer would sit right at the entrance blocking the way and I suggested she sit somewhere else so that others were not disturbed and even she could worship peacefully. The believer went right to my wife and cursed me for asking her to sit somewhere else. She cursed so much, my wife got scared that something terrible would happen to me. Another believer once cursed me when I was leading the worship and she was sitting in the front row and to my face, she kept cursing me throughout the worship. Soon I realized that most of the church members have ganged up against me and except my wife, no one stood by my side. Even the preachers were happy maintaining the status quo. Though my wife was by my side, she was scared of the tactics that was going on in the church. And I felt bad for putting her through so much pain unnecessarily.

The situation became so tense that I was scared to attend the service. And in the day of trouble, I went to the LORD and in His grace, He gave me this verse. A troop shall overcome Gad, but he shall overcome at the last. Amen.

Things went wrong even after that, but I kept reminding myself of the promise that the LORD gave me: Yes, they will overcome me, but I will overcome at the last. And the LORD fulfilled what He has promised. Amen.

Gad