Daily Archives: March 12, 2016

Day 32. Romans 4:20-21

He did not stagger at the promise of God through unbelief, but was strong in faith, giving glory to God, and being fully persuaded that what God had promised, He was also able to perform.

It was easier for a teenage boy to believe that God will provide. And even after all these years, my faith in that area has not been affected. But when I received promises from God, promises that are beyond my imagination, promises that can not be fulfilled by my natural talents, I started to have my own doubts – till I came across these verses.

Romans 4.20_21

Abraham had every reason to consider his unbelief, but he did not think about it; instead he gave glory to God. Over the years, it has helped me so much – giving glory to God has helped me realize how insignificant my problems before the great and awesome God we worship. It has strengthened my faith and it has persuaded me to believe that He will perform what He has promised.

Few years back, God gave me a promise that I will lead my church in prayers. Those who heard the promise actually smiled – the smug smile that says, “Yeah, right.” Because personally I love worshipping the LORD, and personal prayers, I love. But I always have trouble with congregational prayers. And whenever I had to lead a prayer service, I always end up leading a worship service, so much my pastor was really miffed with me. But that promise was always in my mind and I kept praising God and today, I was to lead the church in a prayer service. I could not sleep at all. I was scared. Yet, He Who promised, is also able to perform and the prayer service brought great glory to God. Only our LORD can fill an empty vessel and use it in the way He used me. Praise the LORD.

Faith

Servant of Elijah-showed his faith by his deeds

In the previous blogs, I talked about the servant of Elijah, who had the honour of witnessing the first appearance of the cloud that brought rain to the land of Israel.  I mentioned few reasons so far:

  1. he chose to worship the Lord,
  2. he chose to follow Elijah,
  3. he denied his self
  4. he did not seek great things for himself 
  5. he was obedient and
  6. he trusted Elijah completely.

And he showed his trust and faith on Elijah by his deeds. After witnessing a small cloud, he was commanded by Elijah to go and tell that to Ahab, the evil king. Now, the country was without rain for 3-1/2 years and the cloud was so small. And of all the prophets in the Bible, Elijah was the one who looked very unreliable. Oh, don’t get me wrong. What I am talking about is mentioned in 1 Kings 18:7-15.

Elijah meets Obadiah, a man of God and commands him to go and tell Ahab that Elijah has come. But instead of obeying him, we see Obadiah concerned about his life. He even questions Elijah what sin he has committed that Elijah wants Ahab to slay him. Because he was afraid by the time he delivers the message to Ahab, the Spirit of the LORD would carry Elijah to some other place and the king would slay Obadiah for lying.

Now when almost the same command was given to the servant. What if the rain never came? What if Elijah went missing? The servant did not care for his trust and faith in Elijah and the God of Elijah was so complete.

How about us? Are we ready to trust our LORD so completely? May our LORD Jesus Christ, the Author and Perfecter of our faith, give us such a faith – a living faith, filled with deeds.

Bold faith