Daily Archives: March 19, 2016

The stones will cry out

Nowadays as more and more people worship the LORD, there are questions being asked by more “orthodox” Christians. It is enough if you just shout and get excited during worship? Where are the changes in your life? How will God accept your praise and worship when your life is in such a condition?

Praise Him

I have been often accused for leading a loud worship, when the believers of the church are not leading a “Christian” life out of the church premises. “Do you know what kind of life they live outside? How will God accept their praises? You are just making them feel better, that’s all”, I have been told few times. There are some believers who are so upset during the worship service, because certain unworthy believers are praising the LORD so loud, it irritates them and during the entire service, you can see that the “good” Christians would be sitting with an irate face.

Now, what confuses me all the time is when did worship become “making-someone-feel-better” service? Worship is about God and God alone. Just because I have not sinned as much as the next guy, if I think I am worthy to praise the LORD Almighty, it tells me that I have absolutely no clue about the holiness of the God I serve. No matter what a sinless life I lead, I will never be worthy to stand before His presence, to praise and worship Him. So, then with what confidence, do I come into His presence? The confidence I have is written in Revelation 1:5-6.

To Him who loved us and washed us from our sins in His own blood, and has made us kings and priests to His God and Father, to Him be glory and dominion forever and ever. Amen.

And, whether I like it or not, the same blood of Jesus has washed those “others” who are “unworthy” to be called Christians, and who am I to find fault with the Blood of Jesus and His grace?

So, am I suggesting that we can do whatever we want and then just come and praise the LORD on Sundays and everything is fine? Far from it, far from it. All I am asking is praise the LORD with all your heart when you have the chance. During worship, submit yourself truly to His sovereign authority; know the greatness of His love and mercy; understand what an Awesome God we serve.

As we are celebrating the Palm Sunday today, I want to point out that there was a huge crowd that gathered and with joy, praised God with a loud voice. I don’t know if there were many sinners there. I don’t know how many of them were leading a perfect life. But I know one thing: when the Pharisees were upset about them praising the Lord, Jesus told the Pharisees that if the crowd kept quit, the stones would start shouting. It looks like Jesus was accepting their praises.

Luke 19.40

Which is sort of weird, because as many preachers would point out, that the same crowd started chanting “Crucify Him” in few days time. Now, they may not have known how drastically they were going to change their cry, but I am quite sure, the Son of God knew that beforehand. Yet, He did not label them as hypocrites or He did not reject their praises. Why?

Because Jesus Christ not only knew what they would do within a week, He also knew what they would be doing 50 days later, on the day of Pentecost. When Peter stood up and proclaimed the Gospel to them, and pointed out to them that they had crucified the Saviour, they accepted that and repented for their sins and they became the very first Christian church members.

Yes, dear friend, we have our shortcomings and our problems. Instead of wallowing in our imperfections, let us worship our Master with all our hearts; let us praise our Creator with all our strength. And one day, HE will speak to our hearts; His tender love will point out our deficiencies; His gentle Spirit will lead us into repentance; and our Creator will mould us into perfect creations. So, let us praise Him more; let us worship Him with all our might; for He delights in it.

praise-Lord-heart-wallpaper_1920x1200

Day 39. Psalm 119:49-50

Remember the word to Your servant, upon which You have caused me to hope. This is my comfort in my affliction, for Your word has given me life.

There are many promises of God that I have not yet received. I don’t know if I have lost some, or most of them, because of my disobedience or sin. Or, it is just that the LORD is taking His time to refine my faith. I don’t know. But in these times of affliction, these are the words that I am uttering often… LORD, please remember the word You gave to me, to Your servant… the word that You have caused me to hope. It is the only comfort I have in my affliction, for Your word has given me life. Please, LORD, remember Your word to Your servant.

Psalms 119.49_50